How will the 2022 postseason separate Hodge Trophy candidates?

Updated: February 22, 2022

Photo: The only two highly-ranked undefeated wrestlers who could meet in the upcoming conference tournaments would be Penn State’s Nick Lee (left) and Rutgers’ Sebastian Rivera at 141 pounds at the 2022 Big Ten Championships, March 5-6, in Lincoln, Neb. (Photo by Tony Rotundo/

By Mike Finn

Over the next month, NCAA Division I wrestlers will vie for conference championships in the first week of March, then go after NCAA titles two weeks later at the NCAA Division I Championships in Detroit, Mich. Those two weekends will also eventually determine which of the current 18 highly-ranked undefeated wrestlers will also capture the 2022 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy, presented by ASICS.

There are candidates at nine of the ten weights, but the majority of possible head-to-head meetings would not happen until the national tournament. The only possible match-up of undefeated wrestlers would be between Penn State’s defending national champion Nick Lee and Rutgers’ All-American Sebastian Rivera at the Big Ten Championships.

The prestigious award was named after the late Dan Hodge, the three-time (1955-57) NCAA champion from Oklahoma, who never allowed a takedown and pinned 75 percent of his career victims. Scoring bonus points will eventually help determine the eventual Hodge Trophy winner on March 28, when WIN Magazine, Cutlure House and ASICS announces the honoree.

After the regular season, Minnesota heavyweight Gable Steveson — who shared last year’s Trophy with Iowa’s Spencer Lee — has scored bonus points in all of his victories. Missouri’s Keegan O’Toole (165 pounds) has the most falls (6), one ahead of Oklahoma State’s Daton Fix (133), Cornell’s Yianni Diakomihalis (149) and Arizona State’s Cohlton Schultz (Hwt).


Statistical Look at Notable 2022 Hodge Trophy Candidates

The following list shows wrestlers who have earned All-American status before and are currently undefeated. The list also includes how many pins (P), technical falls (TF) and major decisions (MD) each wrestler has through Feb. 20. The final column shows the % of matches in which they’ve scored bonus points.

NameSchoolYearW-LPinsTFMDOtherBonus %

125 pounds

Nick SurianoMichiganSr.8-0124087.5%
Pat GloryPrincetonJr.13-0224061.5%

133 pounds

Roman Bravo-YoungPenn StateJr.14-0342064.2%
Daton FixOklahoma StateJr.17-0533064.7%

141 pounds

Nick LeePenn StateSr.14-0125057.1%
Sebastian RiveraRutgersGr.22-02134295.4%

149 pounds

Yianni DiakomihalisCornellJr.19-0553173.6%
Tariq WilsonNC StateSr.13-0111023%

157 pounds

David CarrIowa StateSo.17-0444070.5%
Ryan DeakinNorthwesternGr.10-0411060%
Jacori TeemerArizona StateJr.17-0023029.4%

165 pounds

Evan WickCal PolySr.17-0055168.7%
Keegan O’TooleMissouriRSFr.16-0626087.5%

174 pounds

Carter StarocciPenn StateRSFr.15-0254073.3%

184 pounds

Aaron BrooksPenn StateSo.14-0316071.4%
Trent HidlayNC StateSo.15-0436086.7%


Gable StevesonMinnesotaJr.10-01360100%
Cohlton SchultzArizona StateRSFr.16-0505062.5%



All-Time Hodge Winners/Announcement Stories/Winner’s Stats

2021Spencer LeeIowa
 &Gable StevesonMinnesota
2020Spencer LeeIowa
2019Bo NickalPenn State
2018Zain RetherfordPenn State
2017Zain RetherfordPenn State
2016Alex DieringerOklahoma State
2015Logan StieberOhio State
2014David TaylorPenn State
2013Kyle DakeCornell U.
2012David TaylorPenn State
2011Jordan BurroughsNebraska
2010Jayson NessMinnesota
2009Jake HerbertNorthwestern
2008Brent MetcalfIowa
2007Ben AskrenMissouri
2006Ben AskrenMissouri
2005Steve MoccoOklahoma State
2004Emmett WillsonMont. State-Northern
2003Eric LarkinArizona State
2002Cael SandersonIowa State
2001Cael SandersonIowa State
&Nick AckermanSimpson College
2000Cael SandersonIowa State
1999Stephen NealCSU Bakersfield
1998Mark IronsideIowa
1997Kerry McCoyPenn State
1996Les GutchesOregon State
1995T.J. JaworskyNorth Carolina


Skip to toolbar