Most head-to-head meetings of top candidates will come in postseason

Updated: February 8, 2022

With only two weeks left in the regular season, here is a listing of the undefeated All-Americans, who are considered in the running to win the 2022 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy, presented by ASICS.

While it appears that future head-to-head meetings between these wrestlers will happen in the postseason, the scheduled Jan. 20 dual between Virginia Tech and NC State could set up a match between Tech’s Mekhi Lewis vs. the Wolfpack’s Hayden Hidlay at 174 pounds.

The Hodge Trophy, which will be presented after the 2022 NCAA Division I Championships in Detroit, March 17-19, was created by WIN founder Mike Chapman and named after Oklahoma’s late three-time NCAA champion Dan Hodge (1955-57). The criteria for winning the award, in priority order, will include: a wrestler’s record, number of pins, dominance, past credentials, quality of competition, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart.

When it comes to choosing this year’s winner, former Hodge Trophy winners, a retired coach from each region, national media members … and wrestling fans can once again be part of the voting as well. Shortly after the NCAAs, fans will be able to vote online at with the winner earning five first-place votes. 

Updated Statistical Look at Notable 2022 Hodge Trophy Candidates

The following list shows wrestlers who have earned All-American status before and are currently undefeated as of Feb. 8, 2022. The list also includes how many pins (P), technical falls (TF), major decisions (MD) and Forfeits/Defauts (F/Def). The final column shows the % of matches in which they’ve scored bonus points.

NameSchoolYearW-LPinsTFMDF/DefBonus %

125 pounds

Nick SurianoMichiganSr.6-0023083.3%
Pat GloryPrincetonJr.10-0222060%

133 pounds

Roman Bravo-YoungPenn StateJr.13-0332061.5%
Daton FixOklahoma StateJr.14-0523071.4%

141 pounds

Nick LeePenn StateSr.13-0125061.5%
Sebastian RiveraRutgersGr.20-02114295%

149 pounds

Yianni DiakomihalisCornellJr.18-0553177.8%
Tariq WilsonNC StateSr.10-0111030%

157 pounds

David CarrIowa StateSo.15-0443073.3%
Ryan DeakinNorthwesternGr.8-0211050%
Jacori TeemerArizona StateJr.15-0023033.3%

165 pounds

Evan WickCal PolySr.13-0035169.2%
Keegan O’TooleMissouriRSFr.15-0525080%

174 pounds

Carter StarocciPenn StateRSFr14-0253071.4%
Mekhi LewisVirginia TechSo.15-0352066.7%
Hayden HidlayNC StateSr.10-0132060%

184 pounds

Aaron BrooksPenn StateSo.14-0316071.4%
Trent HidlayNC StateSo.12-0425091.6%

197 pounds

A.J. FerrariOklahoma StateRSFr10-0223070%


Gable StevesonMinnesotaJr.9-01260100%
Cohlton SchultzArizona StateRSFr.14-0505071.4%




All-Time Hodge Winners/Announcement Stories/Winner’s Stats

2021Spencer LeeIowa
 &Gable StevesonMinnesota
2020Spencer LeeIowa
2019Bo NickalPenn State
2018Zain RetherfordPenn State
2017Zain RetherfordPenn State
2016Alex DieringerOklahoma State
2015Logan StieberOhio State
2014David TaylorPenn State
2013Kyle DakeCornell U.
2012David TaylorPenn State
2011Jordan BurroughsNebraska
2010Jayson NessMinnesota
2009Jake HerbertNorthwestern
2008Brent MetcalfIowa
2007Ben AskrenMissouri
2006Ben AskrenMissouri
2005Steve MoccoOklahoma State
2004Emmett WillsonMont. State-Northern
2003Eric LarkinArizona State
2002Cael SandersonIowa State
2001Cael SandersonIowa State
&Nick AckermanSimpson College
2000Cael SandersonIowa State
1999Stephen NealCSU Bakersfield
1998Mark IronsideIowa
1997Kerry McCoyPenn State
1996Les GutchesOregon State
1995T.J. JaworskyNorth Carolina


Skip to toolbar