NCAA announces four new championship sites

Updated: April 18, 2017

The NCAA has announced the next four Division I Wrestling Championship Sites — following the 2018 NCAAs in Cleveland — and Pittsburgh, Minneapolis, St. Louis and Detroit earned the right to hold those national tournaments.

The following is a list of those future sites that will occur after next season’s national championships that will be held March 15-17, 2018 at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio:

March 21-23, 2019 Pittsburgh and SportsPITTSBURGH Pittsburgh PA PPG Paints Arena
March 19-21, 2020 Minnesota and Meet Minneapolis Minneapolis MN U.S. Bank Stadium
March 18-20, 2021 Missouri and St. Louis Sports Commission St. Louis MO Scottrade Center
March 17-19, 2022 Michigan and Detroit Sports Commission Detroit MI Little Caesars Arena


Click here to view a short video of NCAA announcing the four locations.

The 2019 NCAAs, which will be hosted by the University of Pittsburgh, marks the second time the NCAA Championships will take place in the Steel City. The 1957 NCAAs were also hosted in Pittsburgh, where the host school finished second to team champion Oklahoma.

When the Division I Wrestling Championships travel to U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis in 2020, it will mark the first time the championships have been held in a football stadium since 1997, when they were held at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls, Iowa. This marks the second time the NCAAs will come to the Twin Cities. Minneapolis also played host in 1996.

The 2021 NCAAs in St. Louis, which were also held most recently in 2017, will mark the ninth time that the Arch City will play host to the national tournament. St. Louis also hosted in 2000, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2015.

When the 2022 NCAAs come to Little Caesars Arena, which is currently being built, it will mark the second time the community has hosted the NCAAs. The Detroit suburb of Auburn Hills, Mich., served as tournament host in 2007.

Among the cities that also placed bids for one of these four years, but were denied, were Atlanta and Louisville.