NCAA admits scoring error, but Realbuto victory stands

Updated: March 20, 2015

The NCAA announced a scoring error happened in the 157-pound quarterfinal between Cornell’s Brian Realbuto and Kent State’s Ian Miller that cost the Golden Flash a victory and a spot in tonight’s semifinals.

Realbuto was awarded an 11-9 sudden victory decision against Miller after officials ruled the match ended 9-9 in regulation. The bout should not have gone to overtime when mat officials did not count an escape by Miller shortly before Realbuto scored a takedown with six seconds left to force overtime.

“The NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee met to discuss the scoring error in the match,” said a prepared statement by the NCAA. “Our determination was that there is a protocol in place for coaches to challenge errors in a match via the coach’s challenge (Rule 3.32.2b). Kent State had challenges remaining and did not raise the challenge flag to declare an error in the match, therefore the resulting Cornell victory stands.”

The following is a breakdown of how the scoring should have happened in the 157-pound quarterfinal, which was given to the Big Red wrestler:

First period

  • Miller takedown, 2-0
  • Realbuto escape, 2-1

Second period

  • Realbuto escape, 2-2
  • Miller takedown, 4-2
  • Realbuto escape, 4-3

Third period

1:28 — Miller reversal 1:28, Miller leads 6-3

  • Realbuto escape, 6-4

0:56 Miller takedown off of a scramble, 8-4

  • Realbuto escape, 8-5

0:24 Realbuto takedown, 8-7

  • Realbuto immediately cut Miller, which should have made the score 9-7 (this is the point the officials missed)

:06 Realbuto takedown, 9-9

  • Miller should have won the bout with a 1:33 riding time advantage, to give him 10-9 win. Instead, the official sent it to overtime tied 9-9 and Realbuto snapped Miller down for a takedown 13 seconds of sudden victory for the 11-9 decision.

 Return to WIN’s Championships Central