Journalist of the Year

Since 1995, WIN has honored the nation’s best wrestling writers and communicators who have promoted the sport with their work.

The following is a list of those Journalists of the Year.

YearName, Organization
2019Justin Hoch, Freelancer, The Fire Inside
2018K.J. Pilcher, Cedar Rapids Gazette
2017Andy Hamilton,
2016Christian Pyles & Willie Saylor, FloWrestling Radio Live
2015John Sachs,
2014Shane Sparks, Big Ten Network & ESPN
2013Bryce Miller, Des Moines Register
2012Jeff Byers, Penn State Radio
2011Andy Hamilton, Iowa City Press-Citizen
2010Andrew Hipps, InterMat
2009Jim Johnson, Big Ten Network and ESPN
2008Kyle Klingman, On the Mat Radio
2007Jason Bryant, InterMat
2006Mike Chapman, WIN/Author
2005Roger Moore, Stillwater (Okla.) NewsPress
2004Craig Sesker, Omaha World Herald
2003Rob Sherrill, WIN
2002Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling
2001Mike Nieto, Times of NW Indiana
2000Dan Ventura, Boston Herald
1999Jeff Byers, WRSC Radio
1998Reid Handley, Chicago Tribune
1997Dan McCool, Des Moines Register
1996Matt Winkeljohn, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
1995J.R. Ogden, Cedar Rapids Gazette
  • Midlands
  • Kennedy Industries
  • Mueller Sports Medicine
  • LiUNA
  • Midwest Nationals
  • Cliff Keen
  • Summit Measurement
  • ASICS Wrestling
  • Resilite
  • Suplay
  • Hi-Tech Air Solutions
  • Rocky Mountain Wrestling Camps
  • Midwest Nationals
  • USA Wrestling
  • Dollamur
  • Holiday Gift Subscription
Skip to toolbar