Updated: January 25, 2022

As of Jan. 25, 2022, there were 25 past NCAA Division I All-American wrestlers who remained undefeated on the 2021-22 season … and are still considered contenders to eventually capture the 2022 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy, presented by ASICS.

This year’s trophy, created in 1994 by WIN founder Mike Chapman and named after Oklahoma’s late three-time NCAA champion Dan Hodge, will be presented to the nation’s most dominant NCAA Division I wrestler, following the March 17-19 NCAA Championships in Detroit, Mich.

Dan Hodge
three-time NCAA champ (1955-57) Oklahoma

In addition to former Hodge Trophy winners, a retired coach from each region, and national media members, wrestling fans can once again be part of the voting as well. Shortly after the NCAAs, fans will be able to vote online at with the winner earning five first-place votes.

The criteria for winning the award, in priority order, will include: a wrestler’s record, number of pins, dominance, past credentials, quality of competition, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart. The first three criteria are the primary criteria. The others are secondary criteria used to guide voters in a situation where two finalists have similar statistics.


Updated Statistical Look at Notable 2022 Hodge Trophy Candidates

The following list shows wrestlers who have earned All-American status before and are currently undefeated. The list also includes how many pins (P), technical falls (TF), major decisions (MD) and Forfeits/Defauts (F/Def) each wrestler has through Jan. 24. The final column shows the % of matches in which they’ve scored bonus points.

NameSchoolYearW-LPinsTFMDF/DefBonus %

125 pounds

Vito ArujauCornellSo.6-0104083.3%
Pat GloryPrincetonJr.6-0111050%

133 pounds

Roman Bravo-YoungPenn StateJr.10-0222060%
Daton FixOklahoma StateJr.10-0413080%
Austin DeSantoIowaSr.12-0081075%

141 pounds

Nick LeePenn StateSr.10-0124070%
Jaydin EiermanIowaSr.12-0302150%
Sebastian RiveraRutgersGr.18-021132100%

149 pounds

Yianni DiakomihalisCornellJr.11-0242181.2%
Tariq WilsonNC StateSr.7-0101028.5%

157 pounds

David CarrIowa StateSo.12-0441075%
Ryan DeakinNorthwesternGr.7-0201042.8%
Jacori TeemerArizona StateJr.11-0022036.3%

165 pounds

Evan WickCal PolySr.10-0034070%
Keegan O’TooleMissouriRSFr.14-0525085.7%

174 pounds

Carter StarocciPenn StateRSFr13-0253076.9%
Michael KemererIowaGr.5-0210060%
Mekhi LewisVirginia TechSo.13-0342069.2%
Hayden HidlayNC StateSr.7-0032071.4%

184 pounds

Aaron BrooksPenn StateSo.11-0215072.7%
Trent HidlayNC StateSo.8-0124087,5%

197 pounds

A.J. FerrariOklahoma StateRSFr10-0223070%


Gable StevesonMinnesotaJr.6-00150100%
Cohlton SchultzArizona StateRSFr.11-0503072.7%
Greg KerkvlietPenn StateRSFr.11-0333081.8%



All-Time Hodge Trophy Winners

2021Spencer LeeIowa
 &Gable StevesonMinnesota
2020Spencer LeeIowa
2019Bo NickalPenn State
2018Zain RetherfordPenn State
2017Zain RetherfordPenn State
2016Alex DieringerOklahoma State
2015Logan StieberOhio State
2014David TaylorPenn State
2013Kyle DakeCornell U.
2012David TaylorPenn State
2011Jordan BurroughsNebraska
2010Jayson NessMinnesota
2009Jake HerbertNorthwestern
2008Brent MetcalfIowa
2007Ben AskrenMissouri
2006Ben AskrenMissouri
2005Steve MoccoOklahoma State
2004Emmett WillsonMont. State-Northern
2003Eric LarkinArizona State
2002Cael SandersonIowa State
2001Cael SandersonIowa State
&Nick AckermanSimpson College
2000Cael SandersonIowa State
1999Stephen NealCSU Bakersfield
1998Mark IronsideIowa
1997Kerry McCoyPenn State
1996Les GutchesOregon State
1995T.J. JaworskyNorth Carolina


Skip to toolbar