Jan 18 Update of 2022 Hodge Trophy Candidates

Updated: January 17, 2022

On March 28, 2022, WIN Magazine, Culture House and ASICS will announce the winner of the 2022 Dan Hodge Trophy that will be presented to the nation’s top NCAA Division I wrestler, following the March 17-19 NCAA Championships in Detroit, Mich.

Dan Hodge

Between now and then, WIN Magazine will provide a weekly update, every Tuesday, at WIN-Magazine.com on this year’s race for the coveted trophy, which was created in 1994 by former WIN publisher Mike Chapman and named after Dan Hodge, the late three-time NCAA champion (1955-57) from the University of Oklahoma.

In addition to former Hodge Trophy winners, a retired coach from each region, and national media members, wrestling fans can once again be part of the voting as well.

Shortly after the NCAAs, fans will be able to vote online at WIN-Magazine.com with the winner earning five first-place votes.

Minnesota’s Gable Steveson shared the 2021 Dan Hodge Trophy with Iowa’s Spencer Lee

The criteria for winning the award, in priority order, will include: a wrestler’s record, number of pins, dominance, past credentials, quality of competition, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart.


Statistical Look at Notable 2022 Hodge Trophy Candidates

The following list shows wrestlers who have earned All-American status before and are currently undefeated.

The list also includes how many pins (P), technical falls (TF), major decisions (MD) and Forfeits/Defauts (F/Def) each wrestler has through Jan. 16.

The final column shows the % of matches in which they’ve scored bonus points.

NameSchoolYearW-LPinsTFMDF/DefBonus %

125 pounds

Vito ArujauCornellSo.6-0104083.3%
Pat GloryPrincetonJr.5-0101040%

133 pounds

Roman Bravo-YoungPenn StateJr.9-0222066.7%
Daton FixOklahoma StateJr.9-0313077.8%
Austin DeSantoIowaSr.11-0071072.7%

141 pounds

Nick LeePenn StateSr.8-0113062.5%
Jaydin EiermanIowaSr.11-0302154.5%
Sebastian RiveraRutgersGr.16-02932100%

149 pounds

Yianni DiakomihalisCornellJr.11-0042163.6%
Tariq WilsonNC StateSr.6-0101033.3%

157 pounds

David CarrIowa StateSo.11-0441081.8%
Ryan DeakinNorthwesternGr.6-0201050%
Jacori TeemerArizona StateJr.10-0022040%

165 pounds

Evan WickCal PolySr.9-0033066.7%
Keegan O’TooleMissouriRSFr.13-0515084.6%
Alex MarinelliIowaSr.14-0231257.1%
Anthony ValenciaArizona StateSr.12-0410150%

174 pounds

Carter StarocciPenn StateRSFr11-0243081.8%
Michael KemererIowaGr.4-0210075%
Mekhi LewisVirginia TechSo.13-0342069.2%
Hayden HidlayNC StateSr.6-0022066.7%

184 pounds

Aaron BrooksPenn StateSo.9-0215088.9%
Trent HidlayNC StateSo.7-0123085.7%
Myles AmineMichiganGr.7-0210042.8%

197 pounds

A.J. FerrariOklahoma StateRSFr9-0222066.7%
Max DeanPenn StateJr.11-0144081.8%


Gable StevesonMinnesotaJr.6-00150100%
Mason ParrisMichiganJr.7-03130100%
Cohlton SchultzArizona StateRSFr.11-0503072.7%
Greg KerkvlietPenn StateRSFr.9-0233088.9%

Source: wrestlestat.com


All-Time Hodge Trophy Winners

2021Spencer LeeIowa
 &Gable StevesonMinnesota
2020Spencer LeeIowa
2019Bo NickalPenn State
2018Zain RetherfordPenn State
2017Zain RetherfordPenn State
2016Alex DieringerOklahoma State
2015Logan StieberOhio State
2014David TaylorPenn State
2013Kyle DakeCornell U.
2012David TaylorPenn State
2011Jordan BurroughsNebraska
2010Jayson NessMinnesota
2009Jake HerbertNorthwestern
2008Brent MetcalfIowa
2007Ben AskrenMissouri
2006Ben AskrenMissouri
2005Steve MoccoOklahoma State
2004Emmett WillsonMont. State-Northern
2003Eric LarkinArizona State
2002Cael SandersonIowa State
2001Cael SandersonIowa State
&Nick AckermanSimpson College
2000Cael SandersonIowa State
1999Stephen NealCSU Bakersfield
1998Mark IronsideIowa
1997Kerry McCoyPenn State
1996Les GutchesOregon State
1995T.J. JaworskyNorth Carolina


Skip to toolbar