2022 NCAA Division I Championships – 184 Pounds

184 pound Quarterfinals

#1 Myles Amine (Michigan) dec. #9 Zach Braunagel (Illinois), 12-5 – The Wolverine became a five-time All-American as he scored four takedowns and a two-point near fall en route to a 12-5 decision. He surrendered a late escape with 18 ticks on the clock to finish one point shy of a bonus point victory.

#5 Bernie Truax (Cal Poly) dec. #4 Parker Keckeisen (Northern Iowa), 6-5 – The Mustangs went two-for-two in the quarters, as Truax scored two takedowns and punched his second-straight trip to the semis by holding off a late takedown attempt by Keckeisen on the edge of the mat.

#3 Trent Hidlay (NC State) dec. #6 Trey Munoz (Oregon State), 6-2 – The Wolfpacker scored two takedowns, including a second with 15 seconds left in a third period that Hidlay also earn a 1;44 riding time advantage.

#2 Aaron Brooks (Penn State) major dec. #7 Kaleb Romero (Ohio State), 13-2 — The defending champ dominated the Buckeye by scoring five takedowns — two in both the first and third periods — and added a 2:28 riding time advantage.

184 pounds – Round 2 Notes

Seven of the Top 8 seeds held up in this weight. The only exception came when Illinois #9 Zach Braunagel pinned Iowa State’s Marcus Coleman after scoring a takedown with 1:13 left in sudden victory.

Also, Michigan’s top seed Myles Amine rode Oklahoma State’s Dakota Geer for 4:09 for the 5-1 victory.

184 pounds – Round 1 Notes

There were only two matches where the lower-seeded wrestler won: Wyoming’s #21 Tate Samuelson beat Northern Illinois’ #12 Brit Wilson, 5-3; and Minnesota’s #19 Isaiah Salazar beat North Carolina’s #14 Gavin Kane 7-3.

Oklahoma State All-American Dakota Geer was trailing Missouri’s Jeremiah Kent 7-1 early in the second period before the Cowboy rallied to take the Tiger to his back ended the bout with a fall.

Among the Top 4 seeds, #1 Myles Amine of Michigan won by technical fall over Kent State’s Colin McCracken, #2 Aaron Brooks of Penn State won 21-7 over Lehigh’s AJ Burkhart, # 3 Trent Hidlay (NC State) major Purdue’s Max Lyon, 12-3 and Northern Iowa’s #4 Parker Keckeisen majored Wisconsin’s Chris Weiler, 13-4.

Return to WIN’s 2022 Championships Central

Head-to-Head Meetings between Top-10 Ranked Wrestlers:

Session I (First Round) Notes/Quotes – March 17 (beginning 12 noon EST)

Session II (Second Round) Notes/Quotes – March 17 (beginning 7 p.m. EST)

Session III (Quarterfinal) Notes/Quotes – March 18 (beginning 11 a.m. EST)

Session IV (Semifinal) Notes/Quotes – March 18 (beginning 8 p.m. EST)

Session V (All-American Round) Notes/Quotes – March 19 (beginning 11 a.m. EST)

Session VI (Finals) Notes/Quotes – March 19 (beginning 11 a.m. EST)

  • RMN Events
  • 2022 DIV II
  • Granby School of Wrestling
  • Matguard
  • Kennedy Industries
  • Cliff Keen
  • Summit Measurement
  • ASICS Wrestling
  • Rocky Mountain Wrestling Camps
  • Dollamur
  • Holiday Gift Subscription