Western State’s McMahill named Div. II Wrestler of the Year

Updated: April 2, 2011

EDMOND, Okla.  — Western State 197-pound standout Donovan McMahill has been selected as the 2010-11 NCAA Division II Wrestler of the Year, it was announced Saturday.

Donovan McMahill

McMahill capped an unbeaten senior season by capturing his second straight Division II national championship on March 12 in Kearney, Neb., earning tournament Outstanding Wrestler honors in the process.

McMahill is the fourth winner of the award, sponsored by the NCAA Division II Wrestling Coaches’ Association and voted on by eight regional representatives from around the country.  Nebraska-Kearney heavyweight Tervel Dlagnev took the inaugural award in 2008, with Nebraska-Omaha 157-pounder Todd Meneely winning in 2009 and Pittsburgh-Johnstown 133-pounder Shane Valko last year.

Each of the four regions nominated a candidate, with McMahill the Super Region Four nominee.  He collected seven of the eight first-place votes cast and finished with 31 points to easily claim the coveted honor.

Nebraska-Omaha 141-pound national champion Mario Morgan of Super Region Two was runner-up in the voting.  St. Cloud State 157-pounder John Sundgren was the Region Three representative and Gannon 174-pounder Zack McKendree the Super Region One nominee.

“When I think back I couldn’t have dreamed up any better a season,” McMahill said.  “It was unbelievable.  I’m so honored.”

McMahill finished a perfect 34-0 with 21 bonus-point wins this season as the only undefeated wrestler in Division II — and the first at WSC since 1965.  He won titles at the Wyoming Cowboy Open Elite Division and Fort Hays State Bob Smith Open during the regular season before taking the Super Region Four and national crowns.

A product of Weld Central High School in Lochbuie, Colo., McMahill was a three-time Super Region Four champion and a three-time All-American for the Mountaineers.  He was the national runner-up at 197 in 2009 before winning back-to-back titles the last two years.

McMahill ended his career with a 51-match winning streak and won a school-record 137 matches, finishing with a 137-20 career record.