Montana’s Weber named 2016 Junior Schalles Award

NEWTON, Iowa — Luke Weber ended his prep career at Forsyth High School with four Montana state championship and an NHSCA Senior National title.

The future Nebraska Cornhusker also made the majority of his opponents pay the ultimate price when the undefeated middle weight, who won his latest state title at 152 pounds and won the NHSCA Nationals at 145, pinned 50 of his 54 victims … and has been named the winner of the Junior Schalles Award, presented to the nation’s top high school pinner.

Luke Weber, who pinned 50 of 54 foes this season, won four Montana state championships and the NHSCA Senior national title.

Luke Weber, who pinned 50 of 54 foes this season, won four Montana state championships and the NHSCA Senior national title.

“Luke Weber’s ability to put people on their backs is legendary,” said Schalles, the namesake of the award who pinned 109 of 153 victims during his college career at Clarion in the early 1970s. “It’s rare for any scholastic wrestler to reach 50 pins in a career, but to reach that milestone in one season is just short of amazing. And then to have over 170 pins during four state high school title runs, simply amazing.”

Weber, one of five brothers who have and continue to wrestler for their father, Scott Weber, said he wanted to break the school record for pins.

“I knew that if I kept the tempo up, I would end up breaking a kid’s will towards the end of a match,” Weber said. “I’d go out there and get really physical with a kid, who realized they don’t want to be on the mat that long. You put them in something tight and give them that extra squeeze so that they relax and give up.”

A more detailed story of this announcement can be found in the latest issue of WIN, which was printed May 27. To subscribe to WIN, call 888-303-0606 or go to


All-Time Junior Schalles Award Winners

Year Name High School (State)
2016 Luke Weber Forsyth (Montana)
2015 Max Thomsen Laporte City-Union (Iowa)
2014 Brandon Womack Scottsboro (Alabama)
2013 Adam Coon Fowlerville (Michigan)
2012 Jordan Rogers Mead (Spokane, Wash.)
2011 Nick Gwiazdowski Duanesburg (New York)
2010 Kyven Gadson Waterloo East (Iowa)
2009 Eloheim Palma Cary (North Carolina)
2008 Kyle and Chase Cuthbertson Scottsboro, Ala.
2007 Hunter Meys Shenendehowa, N.Y.
2006 Jon Reader Davison (Michigan)
2005 Jake Varner Bakersfield (California)
2004 Coleman Scott Central Waynesburg (Pa.)
2003 Roger Kish Lapeer (Michigan) West
2002 Chase Metcalf Davison (Michigan)
2001 Rusty Blackmon Bradley Central (Cleveland, Tenn.)
2000 Chris Pendleton Lemoore (California)
1999 Nick Simmons Williamston (Michigan)


  • RMN Events
  • 2022 DIV II
  • Granby School of Wrestling
  • Matguard
  • Kennedy Industries
  • Cliff Keen
  • Summit Measurement
  • ASICS Wrestling
  • Rocky Mountain Wrestling Camps
  • Dollamur
  • Holiday Gift Subscription