Flo’s Christian Pyles and Willie Saylor named WIN’s 2016 Journalists of the Year

NEWTON, Iowa — Neither Christian Pyles nor Willie Saylor were known as journalists before they joined FloWrestling, but together they have created a provocative and entertaining program — FloWrestling Radio Live — and have been named the winners of the 2016 WIN Journalist of the Year Award.

“Media coverage of wrestling simply must become more engaging for current fans and entertaining for possible new fans if the sport is going to grow,” said WIN Publisher Bryan Van Kley. “What impresses me the most about Christian and Willie is the passion they bring to their coverage of wrestling.

“It’s obvious when listening to them that both truly understand the sport and love it themselves. Those two variables then make their coverage both engaging and entertaining to listen to. They’re worthy recipients of the Journalist of the Year Award.”

Christian Pyles (left) and Willie Saylor

Christian Pyles (left) and Willie Saylor

What’s even more remarkable is that Pyles, a former teacher and coach, hosts the show from his Virginia home, while Saylor, who once focused on fiction writing, connects with Pyles from Austin, Texas, the home of FloWrestling … or from somewhere on the road while they both cover national events.

And they each have a unique style of educating and entertaining wrestling fans from their podcasts that can be found at FloWrestling.com. Among one of their more favorite shows had to deal with race in wrestling.

“We don’t go out with the intent of hurting people’s feelings, but we are going to be honest about how we do things,” said Pyles. “We do tackle uncomfortable things.”

“When there is commentary, there is also change,” said Saylor. “Even if change does not happen right away, people think about it.”

A more detailed story of this announcement can be found in the latest issue of WIN, which was printed May 27. To subscribe to WIN, call 888-303-0606 or go to https://subscribe.win-magazine.com.

All-Time WIN Journalists of the Year

Year Name, Organization
2016 Christian Pyles & Willie Saylor, FloWrestling Radio Live
2015 John Sachs, Tech-Fall.com
2014 Shane Sparks, Big Ten Network & ESPN
2013 Bryce Miller, Des Moines Register
2012 Jeff Byers, Penn State Radio
2011 Andy Hamilton, Iowa City Press-Citizen
2010 Andrew Hipps, InterMat
2009 Jim Johnson, Big Ten Network and ESPN
2008 Kyle Klingman, On the Mat Radio
2007 Jason Bryant, InterMat
2006 Mike Chapman, WIN/Author
2005 Roger Moore, Stillwater (Okla.) NewsPress
2004 Craig Sesker, Omaha World Herald
2003 Rob Sherrill, WIN
2002 Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling
2001 Mike Nieto, Times of NW Indiana
2000 Dan Ventura, Boston Herald
1999 Jeff Byers, WRSC Radio
1998 Reid Handley, Chicago Tribune
1997 Dan McCool, Des Moines Register
1996 Matt Winkeljohn, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
1995 J.R. Ogden, Cedar Rapids Gazette








  • RMN Events
  • 2022 DIV II
  • Granby School of Wrestling
  • Matguard
  • Kennedy Industries
  • Cliff Keen
  • Summit Measurement
  • ASICS Wrestling
  • Rocky Mountain Wrestling Camps
  • Dollamur
  • Holiday Gift Subscription