Champs Abney, Streck lead Central Oklahoma to first D-II title since 2007

From Central Oklahoma

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa Dalton Abney and Shawn Streck put the final stamp on Central Oklahoma’s national team title by capturing back-to-back individual gold medals at the NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships March 11.

Abney earned a tight 1-0 decision to claim his second straight 197-pound crown and Streck breezed to an 8-2 victory in becoming UCO’s first-ever winner at heavyweight to highlight an incredible team performance over the two-day tournament.

UCO had a school-record nine All-Americans in finishing with 121 points. Dylan Lucas (133), Nate Keim (141) and Ty Lucas (165) all finished third, while 184 Alex Kauffman took fifth, 149 Brik Filippo sixth and 157 Gabe Johnson and 174 Anthony DesVigne seventh.

The Bronchos pulled off eight upsets of higher-seeded individuals in the tournament and finished 22-6 in the consolations — winning 12 of 13 during one stretch – in ending a 16-year championship drought. UCO ended with 121 points, finishing 43 ahead of runner-up Lander. It was UCO’s 16th championship, including the eighth in Division II to tie the all-time record held by Nebraska-Omaha and Cal State-Bakersfield.

“Dalton and Shawn were both more interested in winning the team title, but I’m really glad they ended the tournament like this for us,” head coach Todd Steidley. “They both worked so hard this year and put a lot of effort into this event. It was a great way to finish the weekend.”

From Lander

In just its fourth season as a program, the  Lander wrestling team finished as the national runner-up at the 2023 NCAA Div. II National Wrestling Championships.

Lander saw six wrestlers place in the top eight, with four finishing in the top five of their respective weight class.

For the second straight year, Lander had a wrestler enter the championship match. Logan Hall battled his way to a 3-2 victory over Billy Higgins, the No.1 ranked wrestler at 184, of Nebraska-Kearney. Hall would get a takedown in the first while getting an escape in the third. Higgins would only manage an escape in the first and second periods.

Hall would finish in second place after falling 3-1 in sudden victory to Ty McGeary, the No. 3 ranked wrestler at 184, from West Liberty.


NCAA Division II Nationals

March 10-11 • Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Team Standings

Pl. School (State) Points
1 Central Oklahoma 121.0
2 Lander (S.C.) 78.0
3 St. Cloud State  (Minn.) 64.5
4 Western Colorado 61.0
5 Adams State  (Colo.) 58.5
6 West Liberty  (W. Va.) 55.0
7 Indianapolis 46.0
8 Nebraska-Kearney 43.0
9 Glenville State College  (W. Va.) 42.0
10 Gannon (Pa.) 35.0
11 Tiffin (Ohio) 34.5
12 Lake Erie (Pa.) 31.0
13 Mary (N.D.) 29.5
14 Fort Hays State (Kan.) 29.0
15 Wisconsin-Parkside 27.5
16 Upper Iowa 26.5
17 McKendree (Ill.) 25.0
17 Pitt-Johnstown 25.0
19 Mercyhurst (Pa.) 24.0
20 Ashland (Ohio) 22.0
20 Chadron State (Neb.) 22.0
20 Northern State (S.D.) 22.0
23 Kutztown (Pa.) 18.0
24 Augustana (S.D.) 17.0
25 Minnesota State 14.5
26 Drury (Mo.) 13.5
27 Colorado Mesa 12.0
27 Newberry (S.C.) 12.0
29 Mount Olive (N.C.) 11.0
29 Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) 11.0
31 King (Tenn.) 9.5
32 Millersville  (Pa.) 9.0
33 Belmont Abbey (N.C.) 8.0
34 Colorado School of Mines 7.0
35 Shippensburg (Pa.) 5.5
36 Central Missouri 5.0
37 Minot State (N.D.) 4.5
38 Limestone (S.C.) 2.5
39 Quincy (Ill.) 2.0
40 Simon Fraser (Canada) 1.0
41 Notre Dame (Ohio) 0.5
41 Seton Hill (Pa.) 0.5
41 UNC Pembroke 0.5
44 American International (Mass.) 0.0
44 East Stroudsburg (Pa.) 0.0
44 Emmanuel (Ga.) 0.0
44 Fairmont State (W. Va.) 0.0
44 Findlay (Ohio) 0.0
44 Maryville (Mo.) 0.0
44 Newman 0.0

Individual Placement Matches

125 pounds

1st — Brendon Garcia (Adams State) dec. Jaxson Rohman (Augustana (SD), 4-2

3rd — Patrick Allis (Western Colorado) major dec. James Joplin (Lander ), 10-1

5th — Christian Mejia (McKendree) won by medical forfeit over Cole Laya (West Liberty)

7th — Shane Corrigan (Wisconsin-Parkside) dec. Brandon Mendoza (Tiffin) 18-10,  5-0

133 pounds

1st — Gavin Quiocho (Glenville State) dec. Quentrevion Campbell (Chadron State), 4-3

3rd — Dylan Lucas (Central Oklahoma) dec. Eric Bartos (Mercyhurst), 10-3

5th — Devin Flannery (Millersville) dec. Vincent Scollo (West Liberty), 4-1

7th — Reece Barnhardt (Mary) dec. Elijah Lusk (Lander ), 10-3

141 pounds

1st —  Zackary Donathan (Tiffin) dec. Christian Small (Lake Erie), 2-1

3rd — Nate Keim (Central Oklahoma) pinned Peter Kuster (Drury), 4:18

5th — Zeth Brower (Lander ) dec. John Carayiannis (Belmont Abbey), 6-1

7th — Jake Niffenegger (Mercyhurst) dec. Tate Murty (Upper Iowa), 10-6

149 pounds

1st —  Josiah Rider (Adams State) pinned Jason Hanenberg (Western Colorado), 3:46

3rd — Wyatt Turnquist (Northern State) dec. Jalen Spuhler (Wisconsin-Parkside), 10-5

5th — Jacob Ealy (Pitt-Johnstown) dec. Brik Filippo (Central Oklahoma), 9-6

7th — Nick Young (Gannon) pinned Devan Moore (Newberry), 2:34

157 pounds

1st — Nick Novak (St. Cloud State) dec. Logan Bailey (Indianapolis), 3-1

3rd — Noah Hermosillo (Adams State) dec. Dominic Means (Gannon), 6-2

5th — Nathan Smith (Pitt-Johnstown) dec. Trent Mahoney (King), 5-2

7th — Gabe Johnson (Central Oklahoma) pinned Avery Shay (Shippensburg), 2:19

165 pounds

1st — Chase Luensman (Upper Iowa) dec. Hunter Mullin (Western Colorado), 9-7

3rd — Ty Lucas (Central Oklahoma) dec. David Hunsberger (Lander), 3-2

5th — Alex Farenchak (Gannon) dec. Alec Cook (West Liberty), 8-3

7th — Anthony Herrera (St. Cloud State) won by injury default over Mike Vernagallo (Mount Olive),  0:20

174 pounds

1st — Austin Eldredge (Nebraska-Kearney) major dec. Abner Romero (St. Cloud State),  12-4

3rd — Cade Lindsey (Fort Hays State) dec. James Penfold (Lake Erie), 3-1

5th — Max Bruss (Mary) dec. Cole Hernandez (Western Colorado), 11-5

7th — Anthony Des Vigne (Central Oklahoma) dec. Nate Barrett (Ashland), 5-3

184 pounds

1st — Ty McGeary (West Liberty) dec. Logan Hall (Lander ), 3-1 sv

3rd — Daniel Beemer (Ashland) dec. Matt Weinberg (Kutztown), 3-1

5th — Alex Kauffman (Central Oklahoma) won by medical forfeit over Billy Higgins (Nebraska-Kearney)

7th — Reece Worachek (Wisconsin-Parkside) dec. Colter Bye (Upper Iowa). 6-2

197 pounds

1st — Dalton Abney (Central Oklahoma) dec. Derek Blubaugh (Indianapolis), 1-0

3rd — Tereus Henry (Fort Hays State) dec. Dominic Murphy (St. Cloud State), 7-5

5th — Matt Kaylor (Mary) dec. Logan Kvien (McKendree), 3-2

7th — Kash Anderson (Colorado Mesa) won by medical forfeit over Cole Huss (Northern State)


1st — Shawn Streck (Central Oklahoma) dec. Jared Campbell (Glenville State), 8-3

3rd — Darrell Mason (Minnesota State) dec. Cale Gray (Indianapolis),  9-5

5th — Johnny Green (Ouachita Baptist) dec. Juan Edmond-Holmes (Lander ), 2-1

7th — Lee Herrington (Nebraska-Kearney) dec. Jake Swirple (Minot State (N.D.), 3-2