2023 Pac 12 Championships

Five Oregon State champs, including Olguin over Griffith, lead Beavers to Pac-12 title

From Oregon State

STANFORD, Calif. — Oregon State won its 24th Pac-12 Wrestling Championship in Stanford, California on Sunday. The Beavers completed a dominant day in Maples Pavilion that clinched the first team title since 2016.

Five Oregon State wrestlers won individual titles – including three straight at 165, 174 and 184 – as the Beavers competed in the 2023 Pac-12 Championships. Brandon Kaylor (125), Cleveland Belton (141), Matthew Olguin (165), Mateo Olmos (174) and Trey Munoz (184) ran the table to take the titles of champs in their weight class.

Olguin, on his way to his first Pac-12 crown, took down No. 3 Shane Griffith — 2021 NCAA champ from Stanford — for the second consecutive week but needed a bit more time on this occasion. In the second sudden victory period, he won on riding time following a stall on Griffith.

Other Notes

Separated by three team points, Stanford, Cal Poly and Arizona State each claimed at least an individual champion.

Arizona State actually crowned three champions: All-American Michael McGee (133), Kyle Parco (149) and heavyweight Cohlton Schultz (a 2022 NCAA runner-up)

Stanford freshman Daniel Cardenas earned his first NCAA trip with a title at 157 pounds.

Cal Poly’s Bernie Truax (197) claimed is second Pac-12 title.

Pac-12 Championships

March 5 • Stanford, Calif.

Team Standings

Rk. School Points
1. Oregon State 123.5
2. Stanford 113.5
3. Cal Poly 112.0
4. Arizona State 110.5
5. Little Rock 82.0
6. CSU Bakersfield 58.0

Individual Placement Matches

(includes pre-NCAA automatic qualifiers per weight)

125 pounds (3)

1st — Brandon Kaylor (Oregon State) dec. Brandon Courtney (Arizona State) 2-2 tb

3rd — Antonio Lorenzo (Cal Poly) dec. Nico Provo (Stanford), 7-4

5th — Eddie Flores (CSU Bakersfield) dec. Jeremiah Reno (Little Rock) 10-5

133 pounds (3)

1st — Michael McGee (Arizona State) dec. Jason Shaner (Oregon State) 6-1

3rd — Ethan Rotondo (Cal Poly) dec. Jackson Disario (Stanford) 3-1

5th — Joshua Sarpy (Little Rock) won by medical forfeit over Chance Rich (CSU Bakersfield)

141 pounds (1)

1st — Cleveland Belton (Oregon State) pinned Emilio Ysaguirre Jr (Arizona State) 6:05

3rd — Lawrence Saenz (Cal Poly) dec. Jason Miranda (Stanford), 3-2

5th — Jaylen Carson (Little Rock) won by forfeit over Angelo Martinoni (CSU Bakersfield)

149 pounds (2)

1st — Kyle Parco (Arizona State) dec. Jaden Abas (Stanford) 2-1

3rd — Dom Demas (Cal Poly) dec. Joseph Bianchi (Little Rock) 7-3

5th — Josh Brown (CSU Bakersfield) dec. Riley Gurr (Oregon State) 6-3

157 pounds (1)

1st — Daniel Cardenas (Stanford) major dec. Luka Wick (Cal Poly) 13-4

3rd — Isaiah Crosby (Oregon State) major dec. Matthew Bianchi (Little Rock) 16-7

5th — Brock Rogers (CSU Bakersfield) won by forfeit over Max Wilner (Arizona State)

165 pounds (2)

1st — Matthew Olguin (Oregon State) dec. Shane Griffith (Stanford) 2-2 tb2

3rd — Legend Lamer (Cal Poly) major dec. Tyler Brennan (Little Rock) 9-0

5th — Tony Negron (Arizona State) major dec. Braden Smelser (CSU Bakersfield) 9-1

174 pounds (2)

1st — Mateo Olmos (Oregon State) dec. Tyler Eischens (Stanford) 3-1

3rd — Cael Valencia (Arizona State) dec. Brawley Lamer (Cal Poly) 6-4 sv

5th — Triston Wills (Little Rock) won by medical forfeit over Albert Urias (CSU Bakersfield

184 pounds (1)

1st — Trey Munoz (Oregon State) dec. Anthony Montalvo (Arizona State) 5-2

3rd — Brook Byers (Stanford) dec. Jarad Priest (Cal Poly) 6-5

5th — Jacob Hansen (CSU Bakersfield) pinned Mason Diel (Little Rock), 0:56

197 pounds (3)

1st — Bernie Truax (Cal Poly) dec. Nick Stemmet (Stanford) 7-6

3rd — Tanner Harvey (Oregon State) major dec. Matthew Weinert (Little Rock) 15-4

5th — Mateo Morales (CSU Bakersfield) won by medical forfeit over Kordell Norfleet (Arizona State)

Heavyweight (1)

1st — Cohlton Schultz (Arizona State) pinned Trevor Tinker (Cal Poly) 2:47

3rd — Josiah Hill (Little Rock) dec.  J.J. Dixon (Oregon State) 3-2

5th — Peter Ming (Stanford) dec. Jake Andrews (CSU Bakersfield) 3-0

  • RMN Events
  • 2022 DIV II
  • Granby School of Wrestling
  • Matguard
  • Kennedy Industries
  • Cliff Keen
  • Summit Measurement
  • ASICS Wrestling
  • Rocky Mountain Wrestling Camps
  • Dollamur
  • Holiday Gift Subscription