2023 NCAA Div. I Wrestling Notebook • 165 pounds

WIN Magazine will provide notes and quotes about the 165-pound wrestlers at the 2023 NCAA Division I Championships in Tulsa, Okla.

Return to WIN’s 2023 NCAA Championships Central

Semifinals (March 17 – 7 p.m.)

#1 David Carr (Iowa State) dec. #5 Quincy Monday (Princeton), 6-5 — The 2021 NCAA champion Carr overcame an early deficit and slapped together a tough ride to accumulate just under three minutes of riding time on his way to the one-point victory. After surrendering an early takedown and two-point nearfall, Carr clawed his way back with a reversal to narrow Monday’s lead and scored an escape and a takedown in the second before using the riding time point to win the match.

#2 Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) dec. #11 Cameron Amine (Michigan), 6-0 — The defending NCAA champion scored takedowns in the first and third period to go with a riding time point for a controlling shut-out semifinal victory, setting up a date with fellow Big 12 foe David Carr (Iowa State).

Quarterfinals (March 17 – 11 a.m.)

#1 David Carr (Iowa State) dec. #9 Shane Griffith (Stanford), 2-1 — A 1:35 riding time advantage provided the winning margin for the Cyclone in this battle of 2021 national champions. Carr nearly scored a takedown in the first before each man scored an escape in the second and third periods, but the Cyclone rode the Cardinal substantially longer.

#5 Quincy Monday (Princeton) dec. #29 Caleb Fish (Michigan State), 10-4.  — The returning NCAA finalist at 157 a year ago had little trouble advancing to the semifinals, scoring two early takedowns and then holding the Spartan on his back for a four-point nearfall to widen the gap in the third period.

#11 Cam Amine (Michigan) dec. #3 Dean Hamiti (Wisconsin), 3-2 — The Wolverine, who beat the Badger in January, scored the winning takedown with 14 seconds left.

#2 Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) won by TF over #10 Carson Kharchla (Ohio State), 19-4 7:00.  — Widening the gap from a 2-0 victory in last year’s NCAA quarterfinal between these same two wrestlers, O’Toole scored two takedowns in all three periods and added two sets of nearfall to become a three-time All-American for the Tigers.

Second Round (March 16 – 6 p.m.)

  • Top-seeded David Carr (Iowa State) dominated with a 15-4 major decision over No. 19 Austin Yant (Northern Iowa).
  • No. 9 Shane Griffith (Stanford) will meet Carr in a battle of 2021 NCAA Champions after decisively beating No. 25 Bubba Wilson (Nebraska), 10-0. This sets up a quarterfinal meeting between champs Griffith and ISU’s Carr.
  • No. 29 Caleb Fish (Michigan State) continued his onslaught of the 165-pound bracket, upsetting No. 20 Holden Heller (Pitt), 7-2, to earn a berth into the quarterfinals.
  • No. 3 Dean Hamiti hasn’t allowed a first period to expire yet, as the Badger pinned No. 19 Dan Braunagel (Illinois) in 2:47.
  • No. 11 Cameron Amine (Michigan) upended No. 6 Patrick Kennedy (Iowa), 3-2, with a late takedown.
  • No. 10 Carson Kharchla (Ohio State) controlled No. 7 freshman Mikey Caliendo (NDSU) with two early takedowns and an 8-3 decision.

First Round (March 16 – 11 a.m. CDT)

  • No. 25 Bubba Wilson (Nebraska) came out on top of a long scramble to takedown No. 8 and Pac-12 champ Matthew Olguin (Oregon State) with under 10 seconds remaining in overtime for a 3-1 SV decision.
  • No. 20 Holden Heller (Pitt) took down freshman Nittany Lion No. 13 Alex Facundo with a workmanlike 5-3 decision.
  • No. 4 Julian Ramirez (Cornell) became the highest seeded wrestler to lose in the opening round as the Big Red wrestler was taken down three times by No. 29 Caleb Fish (Michigan State), who advanced with a controlling 8-4 decision.
  • No. 19 Dan Braunagel (Illinois) scored early and often, dominating No. 14 Peyton Hall (West Virginia), 16-5.
  • No. 10 Carson Kharchla (Ohio State) scored a reversal with under a minute left to defeat his former high school teammate (Olentangy Liberty in Powell, Ohio) No. 23 Connor Brady (Virginia Tech), 2-1.




All-American Round (March 18 – 10 a.m.)

Finals (March 18 – 6 p.m.)

  • RMN Events
  • 2022 DIV II
  • Granby School of Wrestling
  • Matguard
  • Kennedy Industries
  • Cliff Keen
  • Summit Measurement
  • ASICS Wrestling
  • Rocky Mountain Wrestling Camps
  • Dollamur
  • Holiday Gift Subscription