2022 Dan Hodge Trophy Voting Information

March 21 will be the start of the selection process wrestling’s top award, the 2022 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy, presented by ASICS. 

Starting at 5 p.m. on that Monday — following the 2022 NCAA 

Division I Championships in Detroit, Mich. — fans can start voting for this year’s winner of the award, presented since 1994 to the nation’s most dominant wrestler.

Fan voting will last until Friday, March 25, at 5 p.m. on www.WIN-Magazine.com. The official Hodge Fan Vote winner getting five first-place ballots to go along with the other votes placed by past Hodge Trophy winners, national media members and former college coaches.

Considered the Heisman Trophy of college wrestling, the award was created by WIN founder Mike Chapman. The Hodge is named after the late three-time University of Oklahoma national champion (1955-57) who never allowed a takedown in his college career. He also pinned 36 of his 46 victims.

Criteria for the award includes a wrestler’s record, dominance/bonus-point percentage, quality of competition and sportsmanship. WIN will announce its finalists on March 21 on-line.

Statistical Look at Notable 2022 Hodge Trophy Candidates

The following list shows wrestlers who have earned All-American status before and are currently undefeated. The list also includes how many pins (P), technical falls (TF) and major decisions (MD) each wrestler has through Feb. 28. The final column shows the % of matches in which they’ve scored bonus points. 

NameSchoolYearW-LPinsTFMDOtherBonus %
125 pounds        
Nick SurianoMichiganSr.8-0123087.5%
Pat GloryPrincetonJr.13-0224061.5%
133 pounds         
Roman Bravo-YoungPenn StateJr.14-0342064.2%
Daton FixOklahoma StateJr.17-0534070.5%
141 pounds        
Nick LeePenn StateSr.14-0125057.1%
Sebastian RiveraRutgersGr.22-02134295.4%
149 pounds         
Yianni DiakomihalisCornellJr.19-0553173.6%
Tariq WilsonNC StateSr.13-0111023%
157 pounds        
David CarrIowa StateSo.17-0444070.5%
Ryan DeakinNorthwesternGr.10-0411060%
Jacori TeemerArizona StateJr.17-0022023.5%
165 pounds         
Evan WickCal PolySr.16-0055169.5%
Keegan O’TooleMissouriRSFr.17-0626082.3%
174 pounds         
Carter StarocciPenn StateRSFr.15-0534080%
184 pounds         
Aaron BrooksPenn StateSo.14-0415064.2%
Trent HidlayNC StateSo.15-0535086.6%
Gable StevesonMinnesotaJr.10-01360100%
Cohlton SchultzArizona StateRSFr.16-0505062.5%
  • RMN Events
  • 2022 DIV II
  • Granby School of Wrestling
  • OSU Wrestling Camps
  • Matguard
  • Kennedy Industries
  • Cliff Keen
  • Summit Measurement
  • ASICS Wrestling
  • Rocky Mountain Wrestling Camps
  • Dollamur
  • Holiday Gift Subscription
Skip to toolbar