Journalist of the Year

Since 1995, WIN has honored the nation’s best wrestling writers and communicators who have promoted the sport with their work.

The following is a list of those Journalists of the Year.

Year Name, Organization
2019 Justin Hoch, Freelancer, The Fire Inside
2018 K.J. Pilcher, Cedar Rapids Gazette
2017 Andy Hamilton,
2016 Christian Pyles & Willie Saylor, FloWrestling Radio Live
2015 John Sachs,
2014 Shane Sparks, Big Ten Network & ESPN
2013 Bryce Miller, Des Moines Register
2012 Jeff Byers, Penn State Radio
2011 Andy Hamilton, Iowa City Press-Citizen
2010 Andrew Hipps, InterMat
2009 Jim Johnson, Big Ten Network and ESPN
2008 Kyle Klingman, On the Mat Radio
2007 Jason Bryant, InterMat
2006 Mike Chapman, WIN/Author
2005 Roger Moore, Stillwater (Okla.) NewsPress
2004 Craig Sesker, Omaha World Herald
2003 Rob Sherrill, WIN
2002 Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling
2001 Mike Nieto, Times of NW Indiana
2000 Dan Ventura, Boston Herald
1999 Jeff Byers, WRSC Radio
1998 Reid Handley, Chicago Tribune
1997 Dan McCool, Des Moines Register
1996 Matt Winkeljohn, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
1995 J.R. Ogden, Cedar Rapids Gazette
Exit mobile version
Skip to toolbar