PowerIce - The Next Generation in Sports Hydration


Dan Gable

Since 1997, WIN has annually named its Coach of the Year by Dan Gable.

Dan Gable is arguably the greatest coach the sport has ever produced. As a wrestler, the native of Waterloo compiled a 118-1 record and won two NCAA titles (1969 and 1970) before capturing the 1972 Olympic gold medal in freestyle. As a coach, he led the Iowa program for 21 years (1977-97) and produced 15 team championship, 45 individual titlists and 144 All-Americans.

The following is a list of the all-time winners of the award.

Year Name
2013 Cael Sanderson, Penn State, & Jim Miller Wartburg
2012 J Robinson, Minnesota
2011 Cael Sanderson, Penn State
2010 Tom Brands, Iowa
2009 Mark Manning, Nebraska
2008 Tom Brands, Iowa
2007 Brian Smith, Missouri
2006 Mike Denney, Nebraska-Omaha
2005 Rob Koll, Cornell
2004 Jim Miller, Wartburg
2003 John Smith, Oklahoma State
2002 Bobby Douglas, Iowa State
2001 J Robinson, Minnesota
2000 Greg Strobel, Lehigh
1999 Jim Zalesky, Iowa
1998 Tom Borrelli (Central Michigan) and J Robinson (Minnesota)
1997 Lars Jensen (San Francisco State) and Mark Johnson (Illinois)